Kitchen Sink Risotto

Standard
Image

kitchen sink risotto (peas, broccoli, red pepper, cream of mushroom soup)

 

I didn’t feel like going grocery shopping today and figured I would just eat pasta for dinner.  But then I had a thought about risotto.  I had all the basic ingredients, but I didn’t think that I had anything to put in it.  Then I remembered the box of cream of chicken soup that I have been saving for a casserole.  After doing a quick search to make sure that I wasn’t thinking crazy thoughts and that you could indeed flavour risotto with cream of chicken soup, I went to grab an onion and realized that I had a head of (sad, sad) broccoli and peppers.  Also I had a bag of frozen peas lying forgotten in my freezer.  Success!  Veggies to make it healthier!  

Ingredients: 
1 3/4 cup arborio rice
1 container cream of mushroom soup (use Pacific Foods Organic to make it GF) 
1/4 cup boiling water
4 cups chicken stock 
butter (I used about 1.5 tablespoons in my mind, which could be anywhere between 1 tablespoon and 2 cups… but I think about 1.5 – 2 tablespoons is perfect) 
1 head broccoli
1 red pepper (or whatever.  colour doesn’t matter) 1/4 – 1/2 cup frozen peas
1 small onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
Lots of basil

combine the soup and boiling water in a bowl, mix till smooth
pour stock into a medium pot, bring to a simmer
in a large pot, melt butter.  Once melted, add onion, garlic, pepper, and broccoli
Once those have cooked (onion becomes translucent, pepper is softer looking), add basil, rice, and coat the rice well with butter.  The heat should be medium low 
Add soup mixture and mix together.  Once the soup has been absorbed, add chicken stock 1/4 cup at a time (adding more once the liquid is absorbed) 
Add in Parmesan as you feel necessary.  So often, and liberally.  
Once all the stock is gone, you should have an amazing risotto ready to go.  

 

Leave a Reply

