Pasta with pomodoro sauce

Standard

I took my Grandma to Olive Garden this weekend and had this great dish. And then I drove home in the rain and all I wanted was pasta again.

This is a really juicy tomato sauce- the next time I do it I will remove some of the seeds. Also I didn’t get enough tomatoes so I had to use a can of diced tomatoes and I probably should have drained those more.

This sauce has spinach in it, which is not traditional, but I ate tortilla chips and nothing else for lunch the other day and thought I could use some extra veg. Also if you cut up the spinach pretty small you will never notice it.

pasta sauce doesn't have to come from a jar!

pasta sauce doesn’t have to come from a jar!

Ingredients:
6 small tomatoes, cut into small chunks
1 can no salt added diced tomatoes, drained
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 onion, diced
Big handful of spinach, cut into small pieces
Bunch of basil, cut into small pieces
Pasta of your choice

Heat up a bit of oil in a frying pan and add the garlic and onion.

onions and garlic simmering

onions and garlic simmering

When the onions are translucent add tomato and reduce heat to let tomatoes simmer.
Once the tomatoes have started to break down a bit, add spinach and basil.
Simmer for another 10-30 minutes.

Pasta sauce simmering is the best

Pasta sauce simmering is the best

Cook pasta at some point. I feel like that is a given.

20130129-201705.jpg

Leave a Reply

