Burrito Bowl

Standard

I actually bought all the ingredients to make something completely different, and then on my way home I changed my mind.  This is a favourite of mine and I make it 2 different ways (I will share both with you!)  Tonight I used the dry seasonings.  This is a great thing to make when you’re starving and also pressed for time.  Because I only ever make enough to feed the Duggars (even though I am only cooking for me), this serves 6 medium bowls or 4 big bowls.  

Image

Not pictured: seasonings

 

  • 2 cups uncooked rice, cooked (or quinoa – which is what I chose this time) 
  • 1 package tofu or 2 uncooked chicken breasts (other options: ground beef, cooked chicken, shrimp, cooked turkey… be creative!)  
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro
  • 1 lime
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • small bunch of spinach
  • vegetables (I used carrots, green pepper, and broccoli, but you can use whatever you have at your disposal)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 avocado
  • cheese (for topping) 
  • also for topping you could use an additional lime, more cilantro, salsa, sour cream, etc. 

For DRY seasoning: 

  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 tbsp chili 
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tbsp cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp chipotle
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced

For NOT DRY (wet?) seasoning

  • salsa (your choice.  You could even make it, but I never think of making this in time to make the salsa.  I find that this option works really well if you have leftover cooked chicken or turkey).  

The steps: 

  1. Cook rice, set aside
  2. If you’re using the dry seasoning: mix together seasoning, chop up whatever protein you’re using and mix it into the dry seasoning.  In a pan, heat up oil and fry your protein till crispy (or if you screw it up like I did tonight, at least till it’s cooked).  Also really, you don’t need the cornstarch if you’re using chicken and you don’t want it crispy. I guess I could have told you that earlier.  
    FOR leftover turkey/chicken- pour 1/2 jar of salsa in a pot (really high level cooking here…) and put small pieces of turkey/chicken in the pot.  Simmer for about 10 minutes (enough that the chicken starts shredding a bit).  
    Image

    This photo is probably not necessary, but that is tofu mixed with seasonings

  3. In a separate pan, combine about 1/2 cup of water with the veggies to cook (boil them in the pan- but you don’t want enough water to cover them- just soften them).  Also if you’re not using carrots then this step isn’t necessary and you could just saute.  Or you could just leave them raw.  It’s your life.  My apartment is constantly about 0 degrees though, so everything needs to be cooked to keep me warm
    Image

    Bring me the warmth!

  4. combine chopped cilantro with rice, squeeze juice of 1 lime over top and mix together. 
  5. To serve: in a bowl layer
  • rice (mixed with cilantro and lime)
  • beans (drained and rinsed) 
  • spinach (torn into small pieces
  • cooked veggies (or raw!) 
  • protein
  • tomato, avocado (cheese optional) Image

There you have it!  

Leave a Reply

