Sausage and Kale soup

Standard

When I started coughing and sniffling on the ride home, I knew that I needed to get some warm soup in me, stat.  This is one of my absolute favourite soups.  It’s not too thick, and has a really great flavour.  Also, it’s super easy to make and I am pretty sure impossible to mess up.  You don’t have to, but I added carrots (it made it better so you probably should add them too)

Image

These are all of the ingredients you need!  Actually, you need 1 more carrot and maybe some garlic too.  

  • 4 sausages
  • 2 carrots
  • bunch of kale (I used about half of a bunch, torn into small bits)
  • 1 can white kidney beans
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 cups of chicken broth

in a pan, sautee onion and garlic until translucent.  Add in chunks of sausage and cook until sausage is cooked through (should be white on the outside and slightly browned.)  In a separate pot, combine broth, chunks of carrots, white beans, and kale and bring to a boil.

Once sausage is cooked through, add to broth and let it boil for about 5 minutes, then reduce to a simmer and let simmer for another 10 minutes.  

Image

 

Inhale deeply.  Smile.  

Serve!

Image

 

2 responses »

  1. Looks great! Hope you’re feeling better. Let me know if you have a great leek/cauliflower soup. I was going to make it on the weekend, but plans changed, so plan on it tonight.

Leave a Reply

