Quinoa Porridge

Standard

My apartment seems to be located in a wind tunnel, or so I thought when I woke up to the wind howling this morning.  I was going to brave it and go for a run, but then the rain started pouring and I decided that what I wanted more than a run was something warm and sweet.  

I’ve been thinking a lot about oatmeal- really good, creamy oatmeal (the stuff that is really not good for you, aside from containing oats).  I don’t have any oats on hand, but I do have quinoa, so I decided to try cooking the quinoa in milk to make a creamy porridge.  

Spoiler alert?  It’s delicious.  And filling!

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups milk (I used almond milk) 
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar (you could substitute this with agave or your “healthy” sugar of choice) 
  • fresh fruit to top 

combine all ingredients except for the fruit and bring to a boil
reduce heat to medium low (about a 3 on your stove) and let sit, covered, for about 20 minutes
top with fresh fruit

this will make 4 small servings or 2 bigger ones.  

Leave a Reply

