Quinoa and wild rice vegetable soup

Standard

When the morning weather forecast tells me that today’s temperature will only be 1 degree higher than it was when I woke up, nothing will work better than knowing I am coming home to a big bowl of soup.  Obviously I have soup in my freezer but I didn’t want that- I wanted something different (life of waste, I tell ya!)

So I decided to try a recipe that my boyfriend’s mom made for us this weekend- a vegetable soup with quinoa and wild rice – the grains get bigger the longer that they’re sitting in the soup so make sure to keep this in mind when deciding to use extra grains.

I used what was in my fridge- sweet potatoes and carrots- but you could add lots of extra veggies into here and it would be delicious.  Be creative!

  • 6 cups chicken or veggie broth
  • 1 cup wild rice and quinoa mixed (or 1/2 cup of each)
  • 2 carrots, quartered and cut into 1/2 inch long pieces
  • 1 sweet potato, quartered and cut into 1/2 inch long pieces
  • 1 leek, quartered and cut into 1/4 inch long pieces
  • salt and pepper to taste (my broth was unsalted, but check to see if yours is already salted- you might not need to add anything!)

In a large pot, combine everything.  It will look like this:

Now turn the heat on high and bring the pot to boil.

Once it’s been brought to a boil, reduce heat to very low and cover.  Let sit for about 20 minutes.  Or longer.  But at least 20 minutes.

Great with grilled cheese or a salad!

Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

